The management of the Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro, Ogun state has taken yet another leap again by being the first higher institution to e-elections in Nigeria.

This was disclosed in a statement by the rector of the institution, Dr. Olusegun Aluko during the inauguration of 2020/21 Students’ Union Executives and Students Representatives Council members respectively.

According to him, “apart from one private institution that commenced online classes ahead of Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro, our school started the online classroom lectures for our students and operated it successfully before other public schools adopted it”.

He stated further that, this year, the Polytechnic considered the FG’s position on covid-19 which was why the idea of e-voting was developed and it turned out to be a success without stress”!

While calling other institutions in Nigeria to emulate this giant stride by the Polytechnic, the rector commended the electoral committee for doing a job well done by making the institution to score yet another first in Nigeria academic environment.

Earlier, the Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Mrs Olajumoke Pikuda thanked the rector for his visionary leadership and his support towards the introduction and successful conduct of the e-election.

In his response, the Acting Director, Directorate of Student Affairs, Mr. Olusegun Omowunmi described the low turnout recorded at the election as a result of late payment of Union’s fee by the students, while some of those who had paid equally opted not to turn up.

He however described the voting pattern as stress free, transparent and easy to operate.

The new Students Union President, Comrade Azeez Omoboriowo in his speech, promised to serve the students and promote the integrity of the institution alongside other members of his administration.

The swearing in ceremony of bother executive and the legislative arms was performed through the administration of oath by Barrister Akin Abibu.

Other personalities at the event include; Engr (Mrs) I.K. Ogunfayo (Deputy Rector), Mrs Adebisi Osore(Registrar), Mr Babalola (Age. Polytechnic Librarian) and Mr. S.B. Akinola who represented the Bursar.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here