The Nigeria Bar Association, Ilaro branch has been inaugurated with a call to support the new exco members towards moving the branch forward.

The new chairman of the Association, Ayodele Omoniyi, Esq made this call in his maiden speech today after the exco was inaugurated in Ilaro.

According to him, ” our main objective would be to deliver to our members, a rebranded branch that would be the pride pride of everyone and a darling to all. We therefore solicit for the support of our members and most especially, the elders of the branch”.

He however highlighted four cardinal objectives of his administration which include, Impacting the immediate environment through positive programmes and activities as leaders in the society, providing for members a platform for individual and collective professional, social and political development with their welfare as the ultimate goal.

Other objectives are conscious effort to drive the branch to compete with and overtake the sister branches towards ensuring it occupies the pride place among other branches in Nigeria and also, to pursue a general rebrand of the branch as a model.

In his words, the immediate past Chairman of the Association, Barrister Olusegun Emehin appreciated the efforts of the founding fathers of the branch for their resilient efforts, most especially, late Chief D.B. Babajide and S.O. Adeosun in the formation of the branch.

Emehin therefore, urged members to give support to the newly inaugurated exco while calling on any aggrieved members to sheath their swords and work together with the new team which according to him, was democratically elected.

Earlier, the branch chairman, Omoniyi in his speech, appreciated the efforts of the prominent personalities who contributed to the success story of the branch. Notably among them are Chief Seun Akinbiyi (SAN) and His wife, Justice S.E. Akinbiyi, Hon Justice T.A. Okunsokan as well as Chief Segun Emehin and Mr. Rotimi Akintunde who served as the provisional Chairman and Secretary respectively, alongside Mr L.O Ogunleye, the vice Chairman.

The Chairman also used the occasion to commend the laudable contributions of late Chief (Deacon) D.B. Babajide and Mr. S.O. Adeosun towards the establishment of the branch.

The swearing in ceremony which was performed by justice Oresanya at the premises of the Ogun state High Court, Ilaro also had other members inaugurated to serve for the next two years.

Chief Israel Oloruntowo Esq Talabi, Vice Chairman, Mr S.O. Kayode Esq, Secretary and Mr Oluseyi Enitan Esq as the Assistant Secretary of the Association.

Others are, Mr Emmanuel Ademola as the Financial Secretary, Mr Ayo Ajibola, Treasurer, Tewe Oluyode Olajide, Publicity Secretary, Gbekeloluwa Adegboye Laditan, NEC Representative and Kehinde Hazzan Bamiwola, Legal Adviser.

The new chairman is a Barrister and Solicitor with over twenty years experience in the law profession and expectations are high on his administration to fulfill their electoral promises to the members of the Ilaro branch.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here