The Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun, on Monday named a 13-man committee to coordinate the activities of road transport trade unions in the interim alongside the committee to supervise the 2019 Hajj operations for the Muslim faithfuls performing this year’s pilgrimage to Mecca and

According to a release from the Chief Press Secretary to the governor, Mr Kunle Somorin,

the interim road transport management committee is to be led by Barrister Sunday Olufemi Adeniyi, while the Hajj Operation Committee is headed by Imam Mufutau Majekodunmi.

Other members of the Hajj committee are Alhaji Abdul Gafar Orunsolu, Imam Rufai Sile, Alhaji Misbau Salako and Alhaji Tijani Hassan Ishola are to serve as members of the 2019 Hajj operations.

The other members of the committee are Alhaji Tunde Oladunjoye, Dr (Mrs) Raheemat Oloyede Hon. Kamaru Oduntan and Alhaja Bisola Aliu.

Alhaji Abdul Yekin Arimyau Parakoyi will serve as the Amirul Hajj.

Mr Somorin also stated that the mandate of the Road Transport Associations’ Interim committee is basically to review the operations of the unions and make recommendations on how the unions could be better organised to support the developmental agenda of the state.

The interim Committee is expected to educate and create awareness amongst the stakeholders in the sector on the need to ensure peaceful conduct at all times and avoid any activities that could undermine peace, security and safety of life and property in the state.

Other terms of reference for the transport committee are to institute disciplinary procedures/actions against any conduct or behaviour that could undermine public peace and harness the revenue potential of the road transport for enhanced internally Generated Revenue (IGR) and identification and addressing of any issue(s) that may improve the overall performance of the transport sector in the State.

The members of the committee are: Hon. Kunle Adeyemi, Hon. Afolabi Afuape, Mr. Aremu Babatunde, Hon. Olaitan Asekun, Mr Jokotade Taofeek Kashimawo and Hon. Kunle Mudashiru.
Also included in the committe are, Hon. Sule Abbas, Hon Razaq Adetokunbo (Legelege) and Mr Lekan Oguntayo. Hon Yaya Fadipe and Hon. Kayode Fabiyi. Engr. The release also stated that Tunji Akinosi is to serve as the Secretary of the Committee.

Gov. Abiodun urged the committee to make recommendations for consideration of the Government on the way forward for these unions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here